Meijer honors eight team members with Legacy Awards


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
2021 Meijer Legacy Award Winners Top rated Row Remaining to Right: Kevin Hurn, Angel Cuevas, David Le, Carla Hendon. Bottom Row Still left to Proper: Melissa Tinkham, Robert Ostroff, Kelvin McGill, Jeffrey Marentette.

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. — Meijer announced the winners of its 2021 Legacy Awards, recognizing eight folks across the Midwest for their effect on their groups, prospects and communities. The Legacy Awards are the greatest recognitions a Meijer crew member can get and element two types: the Fred Meijer Award and the President’s Award.

“Our staff users make every thing our consumers see in our outlets possible,” executive chairman Hank Meijer said. “These awards honor crew users all over the organization who are leaving a legacy on their groups and communities. We’re proud to have them.”

Kevin Hurn, director of Pharmacy Procurement and New Business enterprise at Meijer acquired the 2021 Fred Meijer Award, the highest-degree recognition a Meijer group member can receive. This award is given on a yearly basis to just one individual, who embodies the values and mission established forth by Fred Meijer, together with management based mostly in humility, generosity and a enthusiasm for serving others.

Above the system of his 35-12 months vocation at Meijer, Hurn has been a driving pressure powering several main pharmacy packages that gain Meijer shoppers, which include acquiring specialty pharmacy offerings to improved serve people with serious and difficult-to-deal with ailments. He also performed a vital function in the retailer’s industry-main COVID-19 vaccination method, handling its vaccine inventory to preserve the Meijer pharmacies and mass clinics stocked. Most lately, Hurn arranged the retailer’s totally free N95 mask initiative in partnership with the U.S. Department of Overall health & Human Providers, making Meijer a single of the initially main stores to offer them from the countrywide stockpile.

Hurn also demonstrates the retailer’s motivation to group – volunteering to increase provider dogs for Paws with a Induce, develop residences with Habitat for Humanity and travel to Haiti on humanitarian help outings in his personalized time.

Kevin Hurn truly life out our purpose of enriching life in the communities we serve every single day, not because he wishes the credit history, but for the reason that it is what he is familiar with is ideal,” Meijer reported. “He’s recognized by his colleagues as a ‘humble visionary,’ which reminds me of how men and women spoke about my father, building this award in his honor specifically fitting.”

The organization also celebrated 7 winners of the 2021 President’s Award, which acknowledges their major enterprise contributions in the previous year. The winners are:

  • Angel Cuevas, distribution facility clerk in Tipp City, Ohio
  • Carla Hendon, director of Supplier Variety and Indirect Procurement in Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • David Le, Pharmacy staff leader at the Sawmill Highway Meijer in Columbus, Ohio
  • Jeffrey Marentette, senior business architect-Pharmacy, ITS in Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Kelvin McGill, warehouse clerk in Lansing, Mich.
  • Robert Ostroff, store director of the Alpine Ave. Meijer in Walker, Mich.
  • Melissa Tinkham, customer support and typical items Line Leader at the Fremont Meijer in Fremont, Mich.

“This year’s President’s Award winners exemplify the rationale we commenced the Legacy Awards custom – they mirror the broad effect our workforce users are producing on our business enterprise and in our communities,” said Rick Keyes, president & CEO of Meijer. “Looking at the breadth of their accomplishments reminds us that an particular person can always make a change.”


Source link